System/GPU recommendation

I am not sure if this is the right thread to post this.

I’m currently a Masters student and I can say I have just been 1 year into deep learning, my interests are in embedded AI and TinyMl which is why I have completed the two HavardX courses. My masters thesis will be on reinforcement Learning(Wireless Network rate and Power control) so I have decided to invest on a machine but I am financially constraint to about $2500. What GPU or Rig will you recommend for me. I am currently considering Alienware with RTX 3060 6GB and RTX 2080 TI 11Gb with only $250 difference.

Hello @Predstan,

Allow me rephrase your question, please. You want an answer to allocating budget (with recognizable constraints) on CPU, GPU or TPU? (yes, the latter should be a selection criterion if you’re diving into ML; Google Voice Kit v1.0 not v1.1 on RPi was quite an education for me). If you are not into gaming or graphics pipeline rendering then so easy on GPU because there will always be a faster one around the corner and you’ll be hung up in the second guessing loop.

My recommendation (impractical for the current environmental conditions) is to do some very basic hands-on assessment at a local bricks-n-mortar store to gauge your comfort level with the hardware. Alas, you will not be able to run your favorite ML tests there but most of these stores have the basic benchmark tests but you will notice a perceptible difference between the different grades of GPU. For ML, as you understand very well, GPU is the all-rounder to borrow a sports term. Again, there are only two gorillas to consider for the underlying technology but the OEMs have varying warranties and support. It would be in your interest to include these as secondary but important selection criteria.

Kind regards.

2 Likes

Than you, will look into this.