Security considerations for TinyML hardware and applications

I am in the design phase for my TinyML ideas, Thanks to the thread started by @SecurityGuy and what we have learned in the course, I am realizing that considering security now will be much easier than trying to fix it later.

I have no background in security, so I am asking the group: Where should I look and what should I study to ensure that I am following best practices in regards to software, hardware and wireless security in my TinyML projects?

I was very happy with myself when I began collecting sensor data over BLE on my new Arduino Nano until I realized that I was now advertising a wide open bluetooth connection. So I thought now would be a good time to ask about security. :slight_smile:

Thank you for any feedback!

1 Like

@stephenbaileymagic I agree, it is always easier to consider security from the start rather than adding it later.

There are a wide variety of security issues, but a good starting point for any project is to consider security requirements along with other product/project requirements. There are many dimensions to security, so the initial practical challenge is to define the requirements.

What is the nature/sensitivity/quantity of the data being stored and processed?

Is confidentiality, integrity, and/or availability important?

What must the system do?

What must the system not do?

What physical security is required? (As a general rule, cybersecurity sits on top of physical security requirements. Once someone has physical access, we have to consider data theft, code theft, hardware modifications, software modifications, etc.)

Hopefully that will start you on the path toward determining what security controls are required.